Nassau Hall Tiger

Campus Iconography

In April 2016, the University trustees adopted the Report of the Trustee Committee on Woodrow Wilson’s Legacy at Princeton, which included a recommendation that the administration make a concerted effort to diversify campus art and iconography, and consider the possibility of commissioning artwork that honors those who helped make Princeton a more diverse and inclusive place or that expresses the University’s aspiration to be more diverse, inclusive, and welcoming to all members of its community. This recommendation was consistent with conversations that took place between the administration and various student groups, including Princeton Latinos y Amigos, the Latinx community, and the Black Justice League, as well as the Task Force on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

In response to this recommendation, the Campus Iconography Committee (CIC) has been established along with an Advisory Group, both of which include faculty, students, alumni, and administrators dedicated to leading these efforts. In addition to the objectives referenced above, the Committee seeks to identify, facilitate, and support opportunities to provide visual cues on campus that represent layered and nuanced interpretations of Princeton’s history. Finally, the Committee will also encourage efforts to create spaces that promote dialogue and reflection, and to build a sense of community. Additional information regarding the focus of the Committee's work can be found in the CIC Charter and the working group descriptions.

An early recommendation from this initiative was to convene a Portraiture Nominations Committee (PNC), composed of faculty, students, staff, and alumni, to oversee the expansion of the University’s portrait collection. The PNC was formed in September 2017 and welcomed ideas and recommendations for portrait subjects to be added to the University’s collection. 

The Committee

Treby Williams Treby Williams
Executive Vice President (co-chair)
Carolyn Rouse Carolyn Rouse
Professor of Anthropology; Director, Program in African Studies (co-chair)
Wallace Best Wallace Best
Professor of Religion and African American Studies
LaTanya Buck

LaTanya Buck
Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

Nicholas Fernandez ’18 Nicholas Fernandez ’18
Chase Hommeyer ’19 Chase Hommeyer ’19
Ron McCoy Ron McCoy
University Architect, Office of the University Architect
Marni Sandweiss Marni Sandweiss
Professor of History
Amina Simon ’18 Amina Simon ’18
Jeffrey Whetstone Jeffrey Whetstone
Professor of Visual Arts in the Lewis Center for the Arts

Sits with Committee

Leslie Jennings Rowley Leslie Jennings Rowley
Assistant Director, Kahneman-Treisman Center for Behavioral Science and Public Policy, Woodrow Wilson School (CIC, secretary)
Kaitlin Lutz Kaitlin Lutz
Director for Administration, Finance and Planning, Engineering and Applied Science (Princeton History Working Group, secretary)
Annette Tate Annette Tate
Assistant Director, Finance and Administration, Office of the Dean for Research (Public Spaces Working Group, secretary)

The Advisory Group

Rochelle Calhoun Rochelle Calhoun
Vice President for Campus Life
Andy Chen ’09 Andy Chen ’09
Partner, Isometric Studio
Claire Fowler Claire Fowler
Senior Associate Dean of the College
Anne Jarvis Anne Jarvis
University Librarian
Waqas Jawaid ’10 Waqas Jawaid ’10
Partner, Isometric Studio
Izzy Kasdin Izzy Kasdin
Executive Director, Historical Society of Princeton
Aly Kassam-Remtulla Aly Kassam-Remtulla
Vice Provost for International Affairs and Operations (Acting)
Chad Klaus Chad Klaus
Vice President, University Services
Paul LaMarche Paul LaMarche
Vice Provost for Space Programming and Planning
Michele Minter Michele Minter
Vice Provost for Institutional Equity and Diversity
James Steward

James Steward
Director, Princeton University Art Museum

Questions and Suggestions

For questions or to make suggestions to the Committee, please contact Shawn Maxam at